Thursday, 7 March 2013

Dropbox on Student Computers

Over the coming week we will be changing how Dropbox works on the student computers, for those who have it installed. The change will mean that you have to relink your dropbox account each time you wish to use it. Also you must ensure all of your files are fully synchronised before logging out, as any updates which have not been synchronised will be lost.

The change is being made to help protect both your computer account and Dropbox files. Dropbox is not designed for shared computers, like those in the IC and other computer rooms. It can cause problems for your computing account, making things very slow and eventually preventing you from logging in. It also puts your files at risk of damage, meaning you could lose work. 
 
Click here for more information about online file storage and sharing on student computers